LibGuides: 6th Grade: Crusades: Research Links

.

Websites & Articles of Interest

The Crusades: Causes & Goals
Detailed article on the Crusades, including maps, images, and important definitions. From World History Encyclopedia.

The Crusades
From MrDonn.org, article on the Crusades with map and links to related articles including The Effect of the Crusades.

Saladin
Short biography with images from Ducksters.

Knights in the Medieval Age
Article with images and vocabulary from Medieval Times.

The Crusades from The Met Museum
Detailed article from The Met with plentiful images of art and artifacts from the Crusades.
History: Crusades
From History.com. Detailed article with multiple links and images.

A Letter from a Crusader to His Wife
The last of three letters written from Count Stephen of Blois to his wife Adele. Count Stephen wrote the letter from the siege of Antioch, which he survived, only to be killed during the Battle of Ramleh in 1102.

For fun

In the fall of 2021, diver Shlomi Katzin discovered a 900 year old sword while diving off the Carmel coast of Israel. The sword dates to the Crusades and was among several objects discovered. Since the sword was underwater for most of this time it was preserved in very good condition. It's rare to find a sword like this intact. Click the video to see what it looks like!

NY Times article

.

Encyclopedias & Databases

EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, images, reference works, and primary sources for for middle school students, includes Middle Search Plus and other databases plus full text books.

if needed:
Username: townschl
Password: townschool76!

Gale In Context: Middle School This link opens in a new window
Search for Crusades to find multiple articles, biographies, and images.

Password: empirelink (case sensitive)

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Search the Middle School section for Crusades to find links to articles, videos and biographies.

Username: townschool (case sensitive)
Password: Ktwelve (case sensitive)

World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Click on the Student section and search for Crusades to find articles on the Crusades, important figures, and geography.

Username: townschool
Password: apple (case sensitive)

eLibrary Curriculum Edition This link opens in a new window
Click on eLibrary and search for Crusades to find extensive articles, maps and images.
Username: TownSchool
Password: 76TownSchool! (case sensitive)

Troubleshooting

NOTE!

Trying to click on a database in ProQuest eLibrary on an iPad and it's not working? Turn off your pop-up blocker! You can do this in a few easy steps:

Go to Settings
Tap Safari
Under General, click the toggle next to Block Pop-Ups to enable.

After returning to ProQuest and clicking on eLibrary, you will see a message telling you that the site is attempting to open a pop-up window. Click "allow".

EXTRA IMPORTANT NOTE: In most cases on most websites, do NOT allow pop-ups. ProQuest eLibrary is a one-time exception. Stay safe and search safe online!

Contact the Library

Karen Grenke

Library Director

Email Me

Contact:

Contact the Library

Karen Grenke

Library Director

Email Me

Contact: