LibGuides: 6th Grade: Research Resources: Home

Digital resources

The Town Library has many databases that you can use for free from home or school! Here are some that are particularly useful for 6th Grade.

Library Online

The Town Library's complete list of helpful databases, encyclopedias and sites for research, including all the links below. Refer to Library Online any time you have a question!

Brain Pop This link opens in a new window
Has over 1,000 short animations and related material!

Students: log in with your Town email and password
Teachers: please contact tech to set up your account

EBSCO Explora This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, images, reference works, and primary sources for for middle school students, includes Middle Search Plus and other databases plus full text books.

if needed:
Username: townschl
Password: townschool76!

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Includes articles, videos, and links to websites.
School Access ID: townschool (case sensitive)
School Passcode: Ktwelve (case sensitive)

World Book Online This link opens in a new window
Includes articles, videos, and links to websites.
Login ID: townschool
Password: apple (case sensitive)

Staying Safe and Using S.O.S. Online

Just like in the classroom, it's important to practice S.O.S. with researching on the internet!

Here are some tips from your teachers and librarians:

Tell an adult before you use the internet.
Use research links in this guide or from teachers.
Track your research time! Set a timer for 15 minutes to start.
Find an adult if you feel scared or stressed by something you see on the internet. Your teachers, caregivers, and parents are here to help!

Get a Public Library Card

No public library card? No problem! All three New York City libraries provide options to get a public library card online. Residents of any borough of New York City are entitled to a library card from any of the libraries.

Get a New York Public Library eCard
Max 3 holds/3 checkouts. NOTE: Cards expire. To renew, please visit your local NYPL branch.
Get a Brooklyn Public Library eCard
NOTE: Brooklyn Public Library eCards expire after one year. You have two options to renew your BPL eCard:

1. Renew your eCard via My Account at https://www.bklynlibrary.org. The eCard then becomes a Welcome Card, with a maximum of 3 checkouts and 3 holds.

2. To transition your eCard or Welcome Card to a full access card (max 20 checkouts/20 holds), you need to visit a Brooklyn Public Library branch. It is a quick and easy process.
*Do check hours for the branch you visit, and bring ID.
*Children under 13 can have cards renewed by an adult and do not need to be present.
Get a Queens Public Library eCard

Newspapers

The New York Times Town School Subscription
Get full access to the NY Times through Town!

1. Click Create an account.
2. Click continue with Google.
3. Fill in Email Address field using your Town email address.
4. Click Sign Up.
5. Check your @townschool.org email for a verification email from NYT. Click on the embedded link to activate your Academic Pass. (Note: it can take a few hours to get your email.)

Already have a NY Times account but now it says you've run out of free articles? You need to renew your subscription!

Just go to NYTimes.com/passes. The system will send automatically send you an email to confirm your account. Go to your email and click confirm, then select your graduation year and click sign up. You're back in business!

The Cramm
Short and straight to the point news, delivering everything you need to know each day, in email. The best part? It's all completely written by a teen who knows the feeling of trudging through newspaper articles or the nightly news. Sign up with your Town email.

eBook and Print resources

eBooks and Audiobooks

Sora
The Town Library has eBooks and audiobooks! Use the Sora app that is pre-installed on your Town iPad and login with your Town Google account. There are thousands of eBooks and audiobooks available.

Print books

The Town Library

The Town School Library has over 19,000 print books available for checkout. Click here for our catalog.

Classroom Libraries

Your classroom library has many excellent choices. Check with your teachers for safe handling rules.

Public Libraries

NYC public libraries are an amazing resource! Millions of books and audiobooks are available for all ages.

New York Public Library

Brooklyn Public Library

Queens Public Library

Home Libraries

And don't forget about your home library! Most of us have great books at home that we haven’t read. Take a look!

Responsible Use Policy

Remember to share and sign your Responsible Use Policy!

Upper School Responsible Use Policy