Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

DIVE INTO SUMMER READING: RESEARCH FUN

A TREASURE TROVE OF RESOURCES FOR TOWN FAMILIES

AUTHOR WEBSITES

AUTHOR WEBSITES
In addition to basic information, many author websites are rich in resources such as blogs, photos, discussion questions, writing tips, games/puzzles/challenges, interviews, read-alouds, and FAQs. Visiting author websites is a fun way to deepen a child's reading experience. Navigating these websites and comparing them develops research skills. Some authors respond to email, allowing kids to hone communication skills.

LIBRARY ONLINE

LIBRARY ONLINE
A collection of websites and databases curated by Town's librarians and technology department to support research by Town students and feed curious minds. Some highlights include:

  • PebbleGo (designed for K-2nd grade; features articles, images, and videos on animals, science, biographies, and more)
  • Juvenile Series and Sequels (easy way to research the order of books in a series)
  • Britannica (encyclopedia includes articles, videos, and links to websites)
  • World Book Online (encyclopedia includes articles, videos, and links to websites)
  • eLibrary Curriculum Edition (vast periodical database that features full-text articles, images, reference works, and primary sources for K-12 students)
  • EBSCO Middle Search Plus (extensive periodical database features full-text articles, images, reference works, and primary sources for middle school students)
  • BrainPOP (educational website with over 1,000 short animations and related material for K-12 students)